AGM & Elections for New EXCO (2013 – 2015)

26 April, 2013 – The Design Business Chamber Singapore held its Annual General Meeting on the 26th of April, 2013 at Kingsmen Creative Centre with thirty-three of its members in attendance. Honorary Secretary Alexander Lau opened the AGM by welcoming the members and presented the agenda for the evening as well as the review of the previous year’s minutes.

Outgoing President Lawrence Chong thanked the outgoing Executive Committee (EXCO) for their support and innumerable contributions towards driving the organisation forward before giving his report on the Chamber’s key activities and achievements. He then touched on the revision of the constitution as well as the name change from Designers Association Singapore to DBCS, which reflects the role they hope the organisation will fill in the future.

Other activities he highlighted included the dialogue session with Minister Lui Tuck Yew, the Singapore Design Awards 2012 and DBCS Offical Launch Gala Dinner and the MOU signings with Gifts Association Singapore, ingenious switzerland, ECHOM and DesignS for SingaPlural 2013.

The Chamber then proceeded with its elections for the new Executive Committee after the Treasurer’s report. Mr Tai Lee Siang, President for the new term, introduced Mr Andrew Pang, Founding & Creative Director of Lavaworks as Vice-President after he was successfully voted in by the members present. Also unanimously elected into the 2013 – 2015 committee are the following candidates:

  • Mr Ulrich Schraudolph, Founder & Design Director of XentiQ
  • Mr Alexander Lau, Head, Design Excellence Centre of ITE College Central
  • Mr Ken Koo, President of red dot design award, Asia
  • Mr Garry Tan, Senior Lecturer at Nanyang Polytechnic’s School of Design
  • Mr Song Kee Hong, Design Director of Design Exchange
  • Mr Brett Cameron, Creative Director of Kingsmen
  • Mr Derek van Dugteren, Principal Consultant of Creative EDGE Consultants
  • Mr Nav Qirti, Managing Partner in Ideactio
  • Ms Chee Su Eing, Managing Director of D’Perception Ritz
  • Ms Geila Daughtrey, Design Director of The Stripe Collective

Lee Siang then addressed the members as the new President of the Chamber, citing his extensive experience in other associations such as the Singapore Institute of Architects and the Singapore Green Building Council to help craft the direction of DBCS.

“Everything is designed; without design, there is no quality of life. Everything in the built environment is a result of conscious design, and DBCS should be the champion of high quality design.” He said.

After sharing his visions and goals for DBCS and the design industry on the whole, Lee Siang thanked Lawrence for his hard work and contributions to the Chamber for the past four years and Simon Ong, Group Managing Director of Kingsmen for kindly hosting the AGM at his premises. With no other matters at hand, the AGM was concluded and the members then adjourned for a dinner reception to network and congratulate the new committee.

To view more images of the meeting, please visit the photo gallery here.

Leave a Reply